European Film Academy announces Shortlist

Today the European Film Academly announced a shorlist of 48 films from 25 countries to be recommended for 2009 award nominations. The shortlist included three British films: Danny Boyle’s Oscar-wining “Slumdog millionaire”, Andrea Arnold’s “Fish Tank” and Ken Loach’s “Looking for Eric”.
Award winners like the “Reader”, “The Baader Meinhof Complex”, and “The White Ribbon” are among the sholisted films.
In the 20 countries with the most EFA Members, these members have voted one national film directly into the selection list. To complete the list, a Selection Committee consisting of EFA Board Members and invited experts Gunnar Bergdahl (Sweden), Stefan Kitanov (Bulgaria), Derek Malcolm (UK), and Nikolaj Nikitin (Germany) has included further films.
In the coming weeks, the 2,000 members of the European Film Academy will vote for the nominations in the different award categories. The nominations will then be announced on 7 November at the Sevilla European Film Festival in Spain.
The 22nd European Film Awards with the presentation of the winners will take place in Germany’s Ruhr Metropolis on 12 December.
Berlin, 7 September 2009
European Film Awards 2009
– The Selection –
“Antichrist,” Lars von Trier, Denmark
“33 Scenes From Life,” Malgoska Szumowska, Poland / Germany
“Broken Embraces,” Pedro Almodovar, Spain
“Everyone Else,” Maren Ade, Germany
“Father’S Acre,” Viktor Oszkar Nagy, Hungary
“The Baader Meinhof Complex,” Uli Edel, Germany
“The Bone Man,” Wolfgang Murnberger, Austria
“Brothers,” Igaal Niddam, Switzerland
“Camino, Javier Fesser,” Spain
“Coco Before Chanel,” Anne Fontaine, France
“Dogtooth, Yorgos Lanthimos,” Greece
“Eastern Plays,” Kamen Kalev, Bulgaria
“Everlasting Moments,” Jan Troell, Denmark / Sweden
“Fish Tank,” Andrea Arnold, U.K.
“The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo,” Niels Arden Oplev, Sweden
“It All Begins At Sea,” Eitan Green, Israel
“Jerichow,” Christian Petzold, Germany
“Jaffa, Keren Yedaya,” France / Israel / Germany
“Kisses, Lance Daly,” Ireland
“Let The Right One In,” Tomas Alfredson, Sweden
“Little Soldier,” Annette K. Olesen, Denmark
“Loft,” Erik Van Looy, Belgium
“Looking For Eric,” Ken Loach, U.K. / France
“A Matter Of Heart,” Francesca Archibugi, Italy
“Max Manus,” Espen Sandberg & Joachim Ronning, Norway
“Mid-August Lunch,” Gianni Di Gregorio, Italy
“No One’S Son,” Arsen Anton Ostojic, Croatia
“North,” Rune Denstad Langlo, Norway
“Paper Soldier,” Alexey German Jr., Russia
“Pandora’S Box,” Yesim Ustaoglu, Turkey / France / Germany / Belgium
“Police, Adjective,” Corneliu Porumboiu, Romania
“A Prophet,” Jacques Audiard, France
“The Reader,” Stephen Daldry, Germany
“Return To Hansala,” Chus Gutierrez, Spain
“Seraphine,” Martin Provost, France
“Slumdog Millionaire,” Danny Boyle, U.K.
“Sweet Rush,” Andrzej Wajda, Poland
“Tears Of April,” Aku Louhimies, Finland
“Terribly Happy,” Henrik Ruben Genz, Denmark
“The Time That Remains,” Elia Suleiman, France
“Tobruk,” Vaclav Marhoul, Czech Republic
“The Tour,” Goran Markovic, Serbia / Bosnia & Herzegovina / Croatia / Slovenia
“Vincere,” Marco Bellocchio, Italy
“Welcome,” Philippe Lioret, France
“The White Ribbon,” Michael Haneke, Germany / Austria / France / Italy
“Winter In Wartime,” Martin Koolhoven, Netherlands
“Woman’S Way – Strella,” Panos H. Koutras, Greece
“Wrong Rosary,” Mahmut Fazil Coskun, Turkey

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s