Woody Allen wins at the WGA awards

Woody Allen wins at the WGA awards

Woody Allen wins at the WGA awards

For the fifth time, Woody Allen has won the Writers Guild of America’s award for the best original screenplay; this time for Midnight in Paris. He has previously won the trophy for Annie Hall, Broadway Danny Rose, Hannah and Her Sisters and Crimes and Misdemeanors.

The best adapted screenplay award went to Alexander Payne, Jim Rash and Nat Faxon for penning The Descendants, which is based on the novel by Kaui Hart Hemming. It was Payne’s third WGA award, having won it previously for Election and Sideways.

The WGA awards are often seen as a good indicator of the Oscars, to be held next Sunday, because many of its voters are members of the Academy. However, there could be an upset this year, because a major Oscar contender, The Artist, was ineligible for the WGA awards. The black-and-white silent film, which has triumphed at the Golden Globes, the BAFTAs and the Producers Guild Award, was written by a French writer, who is not a WGA member.

The TV winners of the evening included Homeland for best new TV series, Modern Family for best comedy TV series, Breaking Bad for best drama TV series, Too Big to Fail for best long form adapted and Cinema Verite for best long form original.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s