Tina Fey and Amy Poehler to return as Golden Globes host

Tina Fey and Amy Poehler

Two-time Globes-winning comedy actress, Tina Fey, and a Globes nominee, Amy Poehler, will return to host the annual Golden Globes for the second time in a row.

The announcement was made by Globes organizers: the Hollywood Foreign Press, NBC and Dick Clark’s productions, who were thrilled for the return of the two comedians, who have committed to host the show for two more years: 2014-2015.

Thanks to the duo’s  critically-acclaimed performance last year, the awards ceremony drew 19.7 million viewers, up 17% from the year before to become the most watched Globes ever.

“Tina and Amy are two of the most talented comedic writer/performers in our business and they were a major reason the Golden Globes was the most entertaining awards show of last season,” said NBC’s alternative programming president Paul Telegdy. “We’re elated they wanted to host together again and that they committed for the next two years.”

Fey is executive producer, head writer and star of NBC comedy hit show 30 Rock, which was nominated for a record 22 Emmy awards and won 3. In addition to collecting 2 Globes, Fey’s performance in the show has earned her an Emmy and 3 SAG awards. She has also won an Emmy and two Writers Guild awards for her writing on Saturday Night Live, which she had worked on for 9 seasons before she created 30 Rock.

Poehler produces and stars in the NBC comedy series Parks and Recreation, for which she gained a Golden Globes nomination last year and 3 Emmy nominations for acting and one for writing. She has previously co starred with Fey in Saturday Night Live and in the films Mean Girls and Baby Mama.

The event had been presented without host until 4 years ago, when British Comedian Ricky Gervais took to the stage and unleashed his uncompromising comedy, rattling Hollywood and offending its stars. In spite of his controversial delivery, Gervais was rehired to host the Globes for additional two years.

The Golden Globe Awards, which span both television and motion picture achievements, are voted for by The Hollywood Foreign Press 81 members and will air on January 13, reaching more than 192 countries.